• Home
  • FIGT Research Network Event with Jo Parfitt

FIGT Research Network Event with Jo Parfitt

  • 05 May 2021
  • 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM (UTC+01:00)
  • Online (via Zoom or livestream on YouTube)

"The 8 A's for Writing Anything" with Jo Parfitt

Date: Wednesday, May 5, 2021

Time: 6:00 am PST / 2:00 pm London / 3:00 pm Vienna / 9:00 pm Perth

Location: Online (via Zoom)

Cost: FREE. Open to all.

In this practical and interactive workshop you will pick up tips and tricks for writing effective and accessible prose in your books and articles. Learn the secret formula for writing a blog post, what academic writers need not do when writing for the public and the importance of the F word. Q and A to follow.

The workshop will be hosted by the FIGT Research Network (with Sarah Gonzales, Co-Chair) in collaboration with Jo Parfitt of Summertime Publishing. We organized it with researchers in mind but the workshop is open to all. Come along for tips and tricks and do’s and don’ts that will take your writing from the confines of academia to words that work for a wider worldwide audience. The session will include a mix of learning, interaction, writing and sharing for feedback. 

Sarah Gonzales is Director of Graduate Programs at the University of Nevada Las Vegas (UNLV) School of Law. She also serves at NAFSA: Association for International Educators, teaching Intercultural Communication in Practice, Admissions and Placement of International Students, and Assessment and Evaluation for International Educators. Sarah is currently pursuing doctoral research on the intersection of cultural intelligence and mediation skills of TCKs. She is Co-Chair of the FIGT Research Network.

Jo Parfitt has been an expat, a writer and teacher for more than 30 years, has written 32 books and mentored more than 300 new authors. She runs Summertime Publishing, specializing in books by and for people living overseas and runs writers' circle and workshops. In 2020 she launched a writing program inspired by the Life Story Jar to help people write and preserve their precious stories. Visit her website to pick up some freebies and a trial lesson while signing up for one of her online workshops or events. Her websites are www.joparfitt.com and www.summertimepublishing.com.

 

Also, check out the FIGT Online Bookstore for resources on Third Culture Kids and expatriate living. Purchasing through the FIGT Online Bookstore supports our David C. Pollock Scholarship at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, FIGT earns a small commission from qualifying purchases.

Site Search:

Mailing address:
Families in Global Transition

C/o Campbell Rappold & Yurasits LLP
1033 S Cedar Crest Blvd
Allentown, PA 18103
USA

admin@figt.org

+1 (703) 634-7400
Skype: figt.administrator

© Families in Global Transition, Inc.